Photojourneyism

DSC_0001 

     That’s the very first picture I took with my Nikon D90, the beginning of my photo journey.  Little did I know just where it was going to take me. 

     It’s been 2 years and four months to the day since I took that picture.  I pulled that camera right out of the box and went straight to the bathroom mirror so I could capture that moment.  I had no idea what I was doing but I didn’t care, I was so captivated by the complexities of the device I held in my hands.  A whole new world opened up to me on that day. 

DSC_0028     The 28th picture I took with my camera.  I laid out on the floor and began messing with settings and taking picture after picture of my fan, trying to learn what all the dials and numbers meant.

     God has a plan for all of us.  Through many blessings, I received a tool that would take me on a journey that has shaped me into who I am today, two years later, and continues to do so.  He has made it quite clear to me that He has instilled certain passions and abilities in me to pursue a career serving Him as a photographer and videographer. 

DSC_0190    This is from my first backyard adventure with my camera and my Dad’s olde tripod.  I had seen this being done before by slowing down the shutter speed.  With the recent storm gone, I figured it was as good of a time as ever to experiment further with what I had.

     I can’t really describe all of the intricacies of how I became a photographer, I’m not entirely sure myself but I can only blame it on Devine Intervention.  I randomly gained a desire for it, at some point in time applied to Art School (DAAP) I honestly don’t remember my motivation or when I actually did it, and despite not fulfilling GPA requirements, got accepted into DAAP within the year.  Although I’m not a student of DAAP anymore, I still sought out a photographic path, and along the way, I met many beautiful people, and more importantly I encountered God at many points on this road.  

DSC_0576    I don’t know what this was about but at the time (and still) I must have thought it looked cool.

     The biggest test for me was Japan.  That’s actually the reason this blog even exists.  If you go back into the archives, you’ll see that whole journey starting here: https://pdidion.wordpress.com/2010/08/21/bored-on-a-plane/_DSC0041    Hey this looks familiar.

     At this point in time, I had my D90, a kit lens, and only a beginner’s perspective on what in the world I was doing; I wouldn’t have had it any other way. _DSC0298    One of my favorite photos I’ve ever taken.

     In the short time since Japan, I’ve grown so much in Christ as well as in my photography skills and even branched into video work with H2o.  I’ve been consistently blessed with opportunities to grow and learn about both here at UC.  There are many I have to thank for this, number one being of course, God.  He’s lead me, broken me, and rebuilt me to become who He wants me to be and I plan to see His plan in full.  But I also want to thank my family for well… everything.  DSC_0007    I was so excited about my camera that I had to bring it to the dinner table with me on the first day I got it.  Dad wasn’t too thrilled.

     My parents have been fully supportive of my career choice and have helped me so much along the way by helping me buy gear, they’ve come to pick me up so I can grab my car and go to gigs, and even simply have an interest in what I’m doing.  They sent me to UC where all of this change has been going on in my life and they’ve supported my multiple major swaps.  I wouldn’t be here without you guys, I love you, and thank you for everything._DSC0112     I don’t think I’m doing it right.

     I’d also like to thank my friends who have also been so supportive, listening to me complain about many things, be my models, and bear with me on this journey we all go on together.  Thanks guys.

     So now that all the sappy stuff is out of the way, I’d like to announce something:  I’m changing the name of the Blog.  El Blogo De Phil, although funny and certainly something I will miss, was originally made because I was up too late and couldn’t come up with anything sensible to call my blog. 

     My goal (unless it’s God’s will to be something else) is to document the journey of life that God has set before me.  I want to go out and tell the story of others, their hardships, their beliefs, their love, and whatever else comes along the way.  The content of the blog will remain the same, I’ll still post goofy videos of what’s going on in my life, but I feel like along with the changes in my life, I want to change this as well.  Thanks for coming this far with me, I pray that you’ll continue on with me as well as go on your own adventures to see what God has in store for you.  With that in mind, I’ve decided to change the name of the blog to

Photojourneyism.

Thank you for reading, Folks. 

6 thoughts on “Photojourneyism

  1. I’m proud to know you and that I could follow you on this journey. Looking back and seeing how far you’ve come in something is quite an experience, isn’t it?

    (On a more practical note, even with the blog name change, I won’t have to re-register or anything, will I? ^_^;)

Leave a Reply

