A Look at some Strobe Gear

     Warning! — Anyone who gets bored from awesome videos about lighting equipment should definitely watch this video!

     I had some time to get a video out that shows what I’ll be working with in the weeks to come as I do this video series on Strobology!  That’s what I’m calling it and there’s nothing you can do about it.  If you have any questions or comments about the video, make sure to leave them in the box at the bottom of the page and I’ll get right back to you.  Also, if you’re interested in keeping up with my series on lighting, be sure to subscribe to the blog.

 

     As I said in the video, next I’ll be working with manual exposures on flashes.  This is pretty much the whole reason why I’m doing this in the first place.  Before that though, I will prolly post up some of the results of my first lighting experience where I pretty much just guessed.  It turned out well so I’ll be talking about that soon too. 

    This week I got to shoot another losing baseball game for UC.  The best part about it though was that I got to shoot a D700, a D3, and I got to shoot on a 420mm (300mm with a 1.4 Tele-converter) and it was Legen…..(wait for it)….dary.  I was sitting behind 3rd base, shooting at the batter, and this lens was so close I couldn’t get his head and feet into the shot.  It was awesome!Justin Glass slides into third at UC vs. Rutgers on 4/29/12 at Marge Schott Stadium. Photo by Phil Didion.     Sitting behind Home Plate with the 420mmMatt Williams swings for a hit at UC vs. Rutgers on 4/29/12 at Marge Schott Stadium. Photo by Phil Didion.   Shooting up high next to Home with the 420mmRutger's opening pitcher  at UC vs. Rutgers on 4/29/12 at Marge Schott Stadium. Photo by Phil Didion.     On the field with my faithful 200mmUC vs. Rutgers on 4/29/12 at Marge Schott Stadium. Photo by Phil Didion.     Back to the 420mm through the net behind Home. Boom.

     Another fun thing I got to do was help DAFT (The drama group on campus) shoot another video.  This time I was doing a video to help them find an advisor for their club to keep operating on campus.  Check it out:

   

      This is gonna be a pretty busy week so you might not hear from me till next week (which seems to be becoming the norm).  I’m starting my final project tomorrow in photojournalism class where I’ll be teaming up with a high school student and making a photo story out of their life for the rest of the quarter.  Also this weekend I’ll be shooting our school’s Spring Concert featuring Big Boi from Outkast and Kendrick Lamar which is gonna be pretty sweet.  I’m getting hooked up with a pass from the newspaper people so I’ll be able to get some cool pictures, maybe behind stage!  Then this weekend, aside from another AWESOME episode of Korra coming up, I’ll be doing the first part of a two-part gig for a party planner’s website.  Hopeully I’ll have some time to blog and tell you how that’s going. 

     Have a good week, Folks!

Leave a Reply

