Where has the Time Gone?

     It’s been quite the busy week folks, sorry for not having an update sooner.  I got so excited about Legend of Korra last week that I felt my blogging needs were done for the weekend.  This week was full of homework and News Record work.  So without too much gab, here’s what I covered this week!

     The first thing I covered was actually the Diversity conference.  It was the fourth conference of its kind held at UC.  Honestly, the pics weren’t all that interesting.  They served more for newspaper reporting than anything else so I’m gonna move on to….

     Student government elections!  I was assigned to shoot the results.  I was able to hear who had won before just about everyone else.  The winners for President and V.P were Lane Hart and Maesa Idries.  I talked to Maesa a little after the results were out.  I congratulated her and tried to take some pictures but she was a little camera shy.  Unfortunately for her she’s gonna have to get used to that being the V.P of the student government.  And she’ll have to learn that she can’t attempt to delete photos she doesn’t like.  That just makes me and the newspaper post them. 

Lane and Maesa after winning at the Student Government Election on 4/18/12. Photo by Phil Didion.Lane and Maesa after winning at the Student Government Election on 4/18/12. Photo by Phil Didion.     Lane and Maesa embracing each other and friends after having won the student government election for President and Vice President.

     A short but very sweet photo shoot came up on my way between Public Speaking class and picking up the ever so wonderful Lightroom 4 I ordered.  Adobe Lightroom is awesome!  I use it to organize and edit (edit non-newspaper stuff) my photos.  After having used up my trial I had to have it.  It’s a lot like photoshop without all the extra junk that you don’t actually need for actual photo editing.  Anyway, that’s my plug for an Adobe product, back to the shoot.  I got to shoot Greek Week’s Pie to the Face event.  They do this to raise money for the Make a Wish Foundation.  UC students celebrate Greek Week with the annual pie in the face event at McMicken Commons on 4/19/12.  All proceeds from the event went to the Make-A-Wish Foundation.   Photo by Phil Didion.     Pie to the FACE!

     In the mean time, I got to shoot the newest H2o video featuring my friend Jess Sassler who recently devoted her life to Christ.  In the video she shares her story and talks about what lead her to make that choice.  Any of you H2o people out there will get to see that this Sunday. 

     Today started up normally for a Friday, sleep in, eat a pound of Bacon (it was going bad! don’t judge), do some photo gear research,  edit that video with Jess, watch a few episodes of Merlin, and shoot three sporting events.   Yep, three.  I got to shoot….

Lacrosse…UC women's Lacrosse vs UConn for their annual "Think Pink"UC women's Lacrosse vs UConn for their annual "Think Pink"UC women's Lacrosse vs UConn for their annual "Think Pink"UC women's Lacrosse vs UConn for their annual "Think Pink"

Baseball…..

UC vs. St. John's game at Marge Schott Stadium on 4/20/12. Photo by Phil DidionUC vs. St. John's game at Marge Schott Stadium on 4/20/12. Photo by Phil DidionUC vs. St. John's game at Marge Schott Stadium on 4/20/12. Photo by Phil DidionUC vs. St. John's game at Marge Schott Stadium on 4/20/12. Photo by Phil Didion

and Soccer.UC's Men's Soccer team plays against UK's at Gettler Stadium on 4/20/12. Photo by Phil Didion.UC's Men's Soccer team plays against UK's at Gettler Stadium on 4/20/12. Photo by Phil Didion.UC's Men's Soccer team plays against UK's at Gettler Stadium on 4/20/12. Photo by Phil Didion.UC's Men's Soccer team plays against UK's at Gettler Stadium on 4/20/12. Photo by Phil Didion.

    So I’m pretty tuckered out.  Definitely ready for sleep.  But more importantly, new episode of Legend of Korra tomorrow!  Comment on this page about whatever you want but if you watch the episode, let me know what you think!  I want to hear from some of my readers.  That means you, Amy.  Yes, you!  I know you read my blog! 

     Coming up soon: I recently got asked to shoot for DAAP prom.  DAAP is the college of Design, Arts, Architecture and Planning here at UC.  I actually used to be a Fine Arts student there so I know a lot of people there, including friend, fellow blogger, and President of DAAP Tribunal, Necia Disse.  She’s the one who asked me to shoot.  But looking at my equipment, I was discouraged, for great pictures need great lighting.  Indoor stuff, especially a place set aside to take pictures, needs some good light gear.  Lighting equipment is a mystery to me, but not for long!  Seeing as I’m taking a class next fall to learn Studio Lighting, I figured now is as good of a time to get my hands on some entry level lighting gear. 

     So far, I’ve ordered the stand, head, umbrella, wireless transmitter/receivers, and rechargeable batteries. (that’s the photo gear research part I mentioned earlier).  It might sound like a lot but I found some dang good deals without skimping on quality too much.  Once again, I said entry level.  Now comes the hardest part.  I have to get some flashes. After doing some research of the “strobist” variety, I discovered the power of ye olde flashes.  If you learn to shoot them manually, they serve as great, reliable, awesome, and inexpensive pieces of equipment.  The only problem is I have to join in on some bid wars on ebay.  My goal is to get at least one flash and see if my Dad will let me borrow an old one of his,  It should work, theoretically.  Then I need to buy another head/umbrella.  This stuff gets so expensive!  But luckily it’ll open up a new window of opportunity and all the paying gigs with it.

     Also, I’m thinking about going into some gear review videos.  It’ll take up time but I know that what I want in a review doesn’t always happen and maybe there are some people out there like me who want to know certain things about certain pieces of equipment.  I dunno, we’ll see what happens.  For instance, I’ll prolly do a review of my lighting set once I figure out what the heck it is I’m doing with it.

     That was a really long-winded way of telling you what’s coming up but hey, that’s what I do.  Once I get my lighting gear, expect some tests featuring the sisters Park who have already agreed to be my test dummies.  They’re so awesome!  They actually came with me today to the baseball/soccer matches and then we came back to my place to avoid the rain.  We drank tea and listened to jazz, you know, the usual.

     Thanks for reading folks.  Once again, let me know what you think of Korra if you’re keeping up with the show by commenting, let me also know what you think of the new setup with the double photos rather than all large ones (trying something new), subscribe if you haven’t yet, and have a great weekend!  Hopefully I’ll be posting again sooner than later. 

7 thoughts on “Where has the Time Gone?

    • Heya Amy! I’m glad you read my blog! You should come visit some time! By the way, I finally got to see Secret World of Arrietty. I wasn’t too thrilled with it but the art was good as always.

      • I’ve been meaning to visit. I miss the Shire atmosphere and all the lovely pipe smoke. >.o Once DAAP has relinquished me from its suffocating grasp enough for me to escape, I will flee to the Shire and have a cup of tea… So maybe next Saturday or Friday night? Unfortunately, I still haven’t seen Arrietty… BUT SOME DAY.

        P.S. Your friend photos are my favorite. Also, your assignment pieces capture the subjects very well. NIce work! 😀

      • Haha break free from DAAP! Hmm I might not be here next weekend but you should come regardless.
        I feel like its worth the watch. Defs better than Ponyo (not all that hard). And try to watch it in Japanese, the English was horrible.
        P.S, Thanks!

Leave a Reply

