GCRC Seminar Video = Done

Hey folks!  I just literally finished working on my first gig.  It was a very exciting weekend.  I was little misleading in my description of what I was doing.  I said I was doing photo/video work of military dog training, which is partially true, but I soon learned that it was much more than that.

I woke up at the butt crack of dawn on Saturday to drive out to Middletown Ohio to meet with Mike Kennedy, my client and President of the Greater Cincinnati Ring Club.  After getting a little turned around, I found the place and began to work.  I had a friend from school there who had told Mike about me and thus got me the gig.  Things were off to a good start.

Little did I know I was about to learn a whole lot about Dog Training and sport I was entirely unaware of, French Ring.  In short, French Ring is a really awesome and hardcore Dog training sport revolved around stuff like obedience, bites, and jumps.  Click here to learn more about it.

What I was photographing and videoing was a Seminar held by Mike Kennedy and lead by a trainer named Mark Keating.  For the next two days I watched and recorded different events that take place in the competition and learned a lot about dogs and training.  Mark is an awesome guy and a great teacher.  He went one by one with every trainer/dog, checking out what they could do and showing what to work on.  And even though I didn’t have a dog, I had a blast!  I was able to take some awesome photos (if I do say so myself) and learn a lot in the process.

Normally I would post photos throughout this post but since I used most of my favorite ones in the video anyway, I decided to show you final product of my weekend at the Greater Cincinnati Ring Club Seminar.  Enjoy!

Greater Cincinnati Ring Club Seminar with Mark Keating

 

If anyone out there is interested in this, feel free to contact the club at cincyringclub@gmail.com  Honestly if I wasn’t allergic (the most foul genetic disorder I own) I would be doing this without hesitation.  These dogs were so well behaved and protective of their masters.  The level of attention and just the cool factor of these dogs was incredible.

Thanks for reading folks!  This photographer needs some well deserved rest.

Leave a Reply

