The time has come!

First off, I’d like to thank everyone who is following my blog.  Not much has been done here yet, but for the next ten days, I’m going to be sharing the Didion Family’s experience as we travel around Japan.  Throughout my travels I will be taking photos, writing about what we’re doing, and maybe trying to take some video here and there.  At the end of the day, if I have an internet connection, I will be uploading everything I can so that everyone can see what we’re up to.

Tomorrow morning, at the crack of dawn, we will be getting up to go to the airport.  From there, we will be flying to Chicago and then it’s non-stop to Narita International Airport.  Because of the thirteen hour time difference, I will end up in Japan sometime around eight p.m. on the 21st of August.

Our first evening in Japan will be in Tokyo, Japan’s capital city. Tokyo, also known as Tokyo Metropolis is located on Japan’s largest island, Honshu where it houses the heart of the Japanese government along with the Imperial Family and their palace which takes up a space of over seven square kilometers! That’s over seventy-five million square feet! The current emperor, Akihito, and his family live there today.  Most of the places we will be visiting on our trip will be on the island of Honshu

Tokyo is only one of Japan’s forty-seven prefectures, or jurisdictions. Each prefecture can then be divided into cities, then the cities into districts, and districts into towns and villages. These prefectures all have governors and other elected officials who run budgets and all that political stuff.

Now, about the fun things in Tokyo we’ll be seeing! After landing in Narita International Airport, we’re going to be running across Tokyo catching trains, embarrassing ourselves, and trying to meet up with my sister, Emily, whose been living in the Ehime prefecture for the last year as an intern for The Ichimiya Group. The Ehime prefecture is located on the island of Shikoku. We’ll be visiting Shikoku’s capital, Matsuyama, at the last leg of our trip.

After meeting up with Em, we’ll be ready to go out and have some fun! At least Em and I will be as the parents are probably going to want to go to bed. With a translator at my side, I’ll be ready to begin my Japanese adventure! Oh, by the way, the legal drinking age in Japan is twenty.

For the next couple days, we’ll be in Tokyo enjoying tea ceremonies, visiting shrines, seeing the sights like the Imperial Palace, Tokyo Tower, and most importantly, the Ghibli Museum!

5 thoughts on “The time has come!

  1. I’m looking forward to reading about all of the fascinating places and things you’ll do while in Japan. Enjoy! Love, Aunt Carol

  2. Philip,
    I’ve enjoyed reading your first entry and the photos. I’m very impressed with your writing ability. Seems like photo journalism might be a good fit! Have fun – can’t wait to see and read more. Say Hi to the family. Love,
    Aunt Carol

  3. Philip,
    I’m really enjoying your photos of your travels. I’m pretty sure I’ll never go to Japan, so it’s very interesting seeing it through your eyes. Thanks for sharing. Aunt Carol

Leave a Reply

